Get Your Report

Chosen Home Inspections, Inc.

Workphone: (919) 322-2422
Fax: (919) 747-9946

Raleigh, NC 27603

Profile Image

Tom Goodno

For confidence in your home inspection, let Chosen Home Inspections be your company to help minimize surprises and give you "Peace of Mind."

Chosen Home Inspections, Inc. is a professional and fully insured company providing diverse services in Home Inspections, Mold and Indoor Air Quality, Radon Testing, Water Analysis, and Termite Inspections.  We will perform a thorough inspection of the property and give you a quality report that is very easy to read.  Various client discounts are available with FREE incentives.  Satisfaction is guaranteed or your money back!

Please visit our website at for more information about our company and all the services, products, and incentives we provide.

For questions or to schedule an appointment, please give us a call.  We put you first!


Certifications in Home Inspections and Mold & Indoor Air Quality Testing. Member of NACHI.


Performing Quality Service in Home Inspections, Mold and Indoor Air Quality, Radon Testing, Water Analysis, and Termite Inspections. Free 90/120-Day Home Warranty, and Appliance Recall Check and Report included. Money back guarantee!


When we were looking for a home inspector we did a lot of research online and read through a lot of reviews to figure out who we wanted to hire. I was very impressed with the reviews I read about Chosen Home Inspections, and I have to say they were right on point. Tom was great to work with and very thorough, which is what you want when you are buying a house. He took the time to show us where important items are, such as the water turn-off, and explained things in easy to understand terms. The report was very detailed and also easy to understand. We ended up calling back so we could clarify one thing prior to asking the sellers to address an item and Tom and Cecilia responded right away to our call and answered our question very clearly. I highly recommend trusting Chosen Home Inspections for your home inspection because they do an outstanding job!
- T.M., Raleigh NC, October 2016
Tom is very professional and extremely thorough. I liked how he took the time to explain his findings. I also liked how quickly we got our report! The less-than-24hr turnaround is wonderful. I'd happily recommend Tom to my network.
- C.J., San Mateo CA, July 2016
Tom did a thorough job of checking my home for its 11-month inspection prior to the builder warranty expiring. What a relief to have a professional find items that are important but beyond my view of cosmetic appearances. Tom arrived on time as scheduled, was very professional in both appearance, attitude & review of his findings. The inspection report, complete with pictures, arrived the same evening the inspection was performed. All totally worth the money & peace of mind.
- J.F., Fuquay Varina NC, July 2016
Tom and Cecilia were very easy to work with and kept constant communication with us and/or our agent throughout this process.
- T.C., Cary NC, July 2016
Tom is a professional, very attuned to clients who are involved in the stressful situation of purchase of a new home. Tom called ahead when he was delayed on 1-40 due to an accident (as I was also). He explained situations which could have caused certain issues, but gave that as only his opinion, w/ a need to seek professional help w/ identifying the underlying reason for a problem. He stated how much he enjoyed his job, dealing w/ making sure a client is happy w/ their new home, especially seems willing to "fix" a few minor items while doing the inspecting, such as a bathtub drain which had a clog, (hair down the drain), or tightening something loose. His company offers many benefits to a client before & after closing, a one call turn on utilities, & a check for the appliance issues for some period, & an offer to have 18 mos of homeowners warranty for the price of 12 mos. We really recommend Tom to anyone needing a home inspection. That could include septic, sewer, radon, & pest inspection, supervised by Tom's company. Ritter/Wood
- D.R., New Bern NC, July 2016
Thanks so much for all of your help! You were very thorough, professional, and knowledgeable. We are very happy we had you do the initial inspection, and our follow up prior to warranty expiration. Thanks again for your help!
- R.H., June 2016
Tom: I am impressed, not only with your thorough on-site inspection, but also with your website based contract/payment method and the texting confirmation/reminders. Your office staff, Cecelia, was courteous and efficient. Your report was clear and precise and will be used as a punch-list for required repairs. I will highly recommend your service. Stephen Wilson
- S.W., Raleigh NC, March 2016
Thank you for being very thorough. Your professionalism is top notch!! An old house like this i had my doubts and you put all those to rest!
- P.P., Fuquay Varina NC, January 2016
I am so impressed and "wowed" by the inspection provided by Tom. He focused on every point of detail in every part of the loft such that I felt he had examined the unit with nothing short of a fine tooth comb! His inspection report was incredibly detailed too, explaining items of concerns very clearly, in addition to providing superb photos. He was extremely professional, a pleasure to deal with, very knowledgeable in all areas of the home, very serious about the role his inspection played in my decision to purchase the home, and concerned about my comfort level in terms of making sure I understood clearly what he had noted. He has a super personality, is very engaging and clearly is passionate about the work he does. I felt very comfortable asking him questions and could tell that his priority was making sure he imparted his inspection results in "layman's terms" so that I was comfortable. I will recommend Tom in a heartbeat to anyone I know who needs a home inspection. I feel fortunate to have been a customer of his!
- C.C., Morrisville NC, January 2016
My Buyer likes raves about your service
- M.M., Raleigh NC, December 2015
Extremely thorough and very service oriented. Asked great questions. Very concerned about service I am getting from CHI in general, not just his services. Chuck Williams
- C.W., Raleigh NC, December 2015
very thorough and took the time to explain issues and concerns.
- B.B., Raleigh NC, November 2015
Great job
- M.B., November 2015
Excellent service and very thorough. Thank you
- J.K., Cary NC, October 2015
Had a home inspection done today from Tom Goodno from Chosen Home Inspection. I thought he was very professional and thorough. He mentioned items that needed to be addressed and took the time to explain them when the inspection was over. I recommend anyone looking for a Home Inspection to contact Tom. I don't think you will be disappointed. I will have to call him back to look over the items he mentioned in the inspection to see if the builders took care of those discrepancies.
- R.H., Havelock NC, October 2015
Tom demonstrates professionalism, courtesy, and knowledge as owner-operator of Chosen Home Inspections. It is a pleasure to work with someone you can trust will give you skilled opinions about the condition of homes. I certainly recommend Tom to any of my clients and working colleagues for their inspection needs.
- T.H., Garner NC, August 2015
Absolutely fantastic!!! Very courteous and knowledgeable.
- A.D., August 2015
Best inspector around!!!!
- T.A., June 2015
Very good experience! Tom was personable and easy to engage with. He made fair and completely objective assessments with comprehensive explanation of inspection detail. Survey detail was available within 24 hours.
- M.S., June 2015
Awesome, very thorough. Thanks Tom! DL
- D.L., Apex NC, May 2015
Johnny on the spot. Very professional
- D.H., May 2015
Could not be more satisfied!!
- K.A., April 2015
Thank you for a detailed and complete home inspection with pictures to assist. I will certainly refer your company.
- C.Y., March 2015
We are first time home buyers so we were a bit nervous going through this whole home buying process. Tom was recommended to us and made this whole inspection process so easy. He was so extremely professional. Not only that he was extremely thorough. I'm a pretty picky person and he was finding things I would have never even thought to look at! I will definitely be recommending him to my friends & family that are buying and we will definitely be calling him for ALL of our future inspection needs. An excellent inspector!!!
- D.A., February 2015
The inspector was extremely professional and thorough. He checked every nook and cranny throughout the home and provided a comprehensive report afterwards. Chosen Home Inspections has my business for a lifetime.
- E.J., January 2015
We appreciate your knowledge and professionalism. You were very thorough and helped answer many of our questions. We will definitely recommend you to others and hope to work with you again.
- L.M., January 2015
Tom is very polite, professional, and knowledgeable. I would recommend him to anyone needing a home inspection.
- M.L., January 2015
I did a lot of homework before selecting an inspector. I wanted someone that was professional, experienced and mostly, someone that was balanced and honest. Mr. Goodno was that and more. He was very thorough and clearly showed up with a purpose. I did not want a lot of drama around the inspection - I just wanted the facts. The report clearly shows how hard he works and that he takes his job very seriously. The report, of course is technical, but still done in a way that a buyer can clearly understand and make decisions. I could not be more pleased. I recommend Mr. Goodno highly. I did all of the legwork and research to find him. So you can relax and just hire him!
- J.H., January 2015
Tom did a GREAT job inspecting my future home. Although it was a very cold and rainy day Tom still arrived at the site on time and begin working immediately. He was very professional and proficient. Tom took his time and did a thorough job. I am so thankful that he performed my inspection. (B. Ward)
- B.W., January 2015
Overall great experience. He found problem areas I didn't and I build/Renovate homes on a daily basis. Will use again!
- J.N., January 2015
Great job as always!!! Thank you for being so thorough & honest.
- T.A., January 2015
Tim was fantastic. Very personable and answers question right on site. I was very happy.
- R.S., December 2014
Thank you for doing such a great job. I appreciated your friendly and professional assistance. You gave thoughtful and complete answers to all my questions, and I felt very comfortable asking them. The report itself is clear (with excellent photographs) and very easy to read. I would definitely recommend your company to anyone needing inspection services! Thanks again!
- C.W., December 2014
You do a fantastic job and very complete. The buyer knows the home after your inspection
- K.A., December 2014
Thanks for covering every area and a great job. My move now make me feel safe and secure. Again, thanks for your service. Ida Black
- I.B., October 2014
Thank you for your attention to detail. Your report format is excellent. It allows us to feel confident we are well informed on this important home purchase.
- J.A., October 2014
Great person to talk to. Very respectful and professional. The report exceeded my expectations. I am very grateful for Tom Goodno services. I will definitely recommend him in the future.
- C.G., October 2014
Tom thank you for your 2nd inspection to our home. We gave your business card to our neighbors across the street as we are so impressed with your services. Great job and so prompt as usual.
- G.K., October 2014
Great and detailed report. We are so glad that we have done a home inspection with Mr. Tom Goodno. He finds every tiny issue in the house that needs to be repaired or replaced. Thank you very much!
- A.M., September 2014
Tom was very professional and answered all my questions. I would highly recommend him to anyone.
- R.F., August 2014
Great experience. Professional work with excellent service.
- K.A., August 2014
Very professional and thorough!! Thanks!
- M.B., July 2014
Tom did a great job! Very thorough, professional, and helpful.
- A.C., June 2014
Very professional, thorough and timely! Received the report the same day!
- C.B., June 2014
Tom did a great job & he was very patient in explaining his findings with me. He was thorough, professional & took time to inspect our home top to bottom. When I did not understand one of his report entries, he was kind enough to call & explain the verbage concerning the electrical box. I learned a great deal about what to look for & am very grateful to Tom for sharing his knowledge & experience with me. I would recommend him with confidence.
- D.S., June 2014
Professional and friendly. Explained all findings thoroughly.
- N.G., Cary NC, May 2014
I live in New York and I'm moving to North Carolina. I was not present at the inspection but my realtor was. I'm very pleased with your inspection. You inspected areas I would of never looked to check. You are very thorough and I would recommend you to anybody. A detailed report was sent to me with pictures afterwards and my realtor even said " I have to use him sometimes". Thank you for your service.
- E.R., March 2014
Very professional -- answer questions, explain the report, provide suggestions -- absolutely a good inspection job!
- L.R., February 2014
I had a very tight timeline in which to have the inspection done and Tom worked with me to get it completed in a timely fashion. Tom was extremely thorough, professional and detailed. I would definitely recommend Tom to anyone looking for a home inspector.
- M.J., February 2014
Very professional. I was very impressed with how thorough Tom was. He left no stone unturned. Thanks to Tom, our home inspection will make a big difference in getting our home ready before we close.
- J.S., February 2014
Awesome, job! Thank you once again!
- C.G., December 2013
I do not think we could have had a better inspector. You were very professional and thorough. Thank you for your service. John and Gail Rushing
- J.R., December 2013
Very thorough job and willing to answer questions. Lots of helpful information was given.
- C.F., December 2013
Thank you for the thorough inspection!
- P.B., November 2013
Great job with our inspection! You have inspected our future home with a fine tooth comb. We greatly appreciate it! We will definitely recommend to others. Adrian & Saray
- A.L., November 2013
Thank you for your thorough inspection of my new home. It was a pleasure meeting you. Joanne Tammaro
- J.T., November 2013
Very professional and knowledgable. I would definately recommend him!
- M.B., October 2013
I highly recommend Tom Goodno for your home inspection needs. Tom has been completing home inspections full time for many years รข?? so he has the experience and knowledge to do a great job. Tom is always on time with his inspections and reports, extremely thorough and very conscientious. Tom is my number one choice for home inspections.
- D.L., October 2013
We are very pleased with the level of service provided by Tom Goodno. He was very professional and personable. Tom inspected each detail of our home both inside and out. Checked everything out, spotted everything we had found and found a few items we didn't or did not know about. Definitely worth the price for the peace of mind about our first home purchase and the upcoming expiration of our builder's warranty.
- M.C., October 2013
Tom...Thank you so very much for all your valuable comments & for your expertise. I feel at ease knowing that "you have my back". It was my pleasure meeting you!!
- C.F., September 2013
Thanks for doing such a thorough home inspection for my buyer. Sorry about the fire alarm going off! Speak to you soon!
- I.Z., September 2013
Thank you, Tom, for your professionalism from start to finish.
- J.J., September 2013
Tom is very professional and did an extremely thorough inspection. We would highly recommend him. We will definitely use again and will pass him name along without hesitation!
- D.J., August 2013
Tom did a great job! He was very friendly, professional, and thorough.
- B.S., August 2013
Tom did a very thorough inspection of our property. He is very knowledgeable about the systems and structures of a home.
- P.R., Wendell NC, June 2013
The home buying process can be very stressful - you just don't want to make a huge mistake. Tom was very thorough in his inspection and kind in his demeanor. He stated the facts and provided input, while leaving the decisions regarding next steps to us.
- D.M., June 2013
Fantastic job! Very friendly and thorough!
- E.H., June 2013
I enjoy working with Tom, and my clients are always happy with his services. He's prompt, courteous, and always provides lots of detailed in his inspection reports.
- T.W., Raleigh NC, May 2013
Thanks for being easy to talk with and explaining the issues you saw to me.
- J.B., May 2013
Very Professional and thorough report. I have used Tom twice and were very pleased both times.
- P.C., May 2013
Many thanks, Tom, after watching Holmes on Holmes, you are as good if not better!!!!! Pat and Dave Thornell
- D.T., April 2013
Tom Goodno was very thorough in his inspection. He was willing to answer questions during the inspection and was clear in his answers to any and all questions.
- C.F., April 2013
Without a doubt we would recommend Tom Goodno! He was professional, friendly, took the time to explain everything, listened to any concerns we had and was very thorough. Thanks, Tom!
- A.K., April 2013
Thank you for all your hard work. It was great getting to know you.
- P.R., Wendell NC, April 2013
Invaluable, professional service!
- J.V., March 2013
Well done Mr. Goodno.Thanks for your good work and dedication. See you again in Miami Fl in the next 5-10 years for sure.
- Y.M., January 2013
We appreciate his attention to every detail and his followup report. Several items were identified that needed attention before we closed. We were able to get this work done before closing and are confident that the house was ready for us to move in. It made things so much easier for us. Thank you.
- R.C., Hillsborough NC, December 2012
Most thorough and professional inspection I have ever had. This is my 5th house buying experience and I can truly say this was so helpful and detailed. Thank You Tom.
- N.P., November 2012
Excellent job- thanks
- O.M., November 2012
Thank you for answering all of my questions and for letting me hang out while you pointed out some areas of repair. If I had not been able to be there and ask questions, my fears would not have been relieved. Also it was great of you to point me in the right directions for home repairs and solutions to the problems. Being new to the area this was extremely helpful. Thank you so much.
- E.H., October 2012
Tom did an excellent job and by far exceeded my expectations. I would definitely recommend that anyone who is considering getting a home inspection to call Tom Goodno with Chosen Home Inspections first. He is extremely professional and very detailed. You will not be disappointed!
- C.L., September 2012
Tom was very professional and thorough in his inspection of my home. Thanks, Frank
- F.B., August 2012
I will recommend you to my clients!
- D.B., Cary NC, July 2012
I would recommend Tom to anyone who asked me. He is patient and clear. He dealt with me with a great deal of integrity. I feel very fortunate.
- D.M., April 2012
I would recommend Tom to anyone who asked me. He is patient and clear. He dealt with me with a great deal of integrity. I feel very fortunate.
- D.M., April 2012
Good job! As a real estate broker, I was very impressed about how thorough Tom conducted my buyer's home inspection. His fees are competitive and I especially enjoyed having the convenience of having Tom coordinate the home inspection, well & septic, water test, termite, and radon inspections! I'll definitely call Chosen Home Inspections for future clients.
- D.W., April 2012
Tommy has done an outstanding job. He should be the only guy allowed to do the job he does.
- M.B., April 2012
Thank you for all your hardwork. You are an extremely great inspector.
- A.B., March 2012
Tom, Thanks for the great service you provided inspecting our home. Tom did thorough job inspecting all aspects of the home in all areas, except for some hard to reach because of height. He provided a comprehensive report and answered questions patiently. Also, I liked the continuous radon monitoring method he uses - very reliable and tamer-proof.
- R.G., February 2012
Tom and his team are very thourough and his conversations with buyers and his reports are not frightening. His reports are clear and very easy to understand. Tom takes time to explain things he has found to the buyers in a manner not to create unneeded concern.
- B.D., Raleigh NC, January 2012
Another excellent inspection!! Thank you for being thorough, honest and on time!
- T.A., January 2012
Like I said Tom- The fact that you answered the phone even while on vacation tells me you are intent on making the best experience possible, and buying a home for the first time is scary enough. I had high comments on you from Laura and my family. I see that Lorraine's recoomendation was not in vain. Thanks for everything and for being so thorough.
- K.J., November 2011
Tom Goodno is professional,frienndly and knowledgable in this field. He is thorough and has keen eyes for defects. I had a great experience and would definitely recommend him to others. It was money well spent.
- K.U., October 2011
I was very impressed with the inspection and attention to detail. Thank you for your professionalism
- C.G., August 2011
Very professional and detailed inspection. Greatly appreciated.
- C.W., July 2011
Tom, Thanks again for a thorough detailed inspection and report. WE fell confident that we have a complete and accurate profile of the house we intend to purchase. Dan G.
- D.G., July 2011
Great Inspection and very thorough. I have seen many Home Inspectors and Tom was one the best. His reports are well written and complete. He conducts himself like a professional. The problems are outlined in a logical manner. I highly recommend him for your next Home Inspection.
- R.S., Fayetteville NC, May 2011
I was extremely satisfied with the proffesionalism and thoroughness of the inspection. I would highly recommend you to anyone needed an inspection. Great inspection at an even greater price. Keep up the good work!!
- B.C., May 2011
Very professional and thorough....would highly recommend.
- L.P., April 2011
Always professional! Would recommend him to anyone looking to get a great-thorough inspection!
- R.M., March 2011