Get Your Report

Foundations Home Inspections, Inc.

Workphone: 605-877-4563
Mobile: 605-877-4563

Hill City, SD 57745

Follow me on facebook

Profile Image

Christopher and Michelle Verbeck

The most thorough home inspection service you will find!  Our reports are 50+ pages on average.

We go beyond the state's standards of practice to ensure your confidence for the largest investment of your life.  Our minimum inspection is 2 hours.  We also include a 1-hour walkthrough to tour you through your home and a home ownership packet to get you started.
We will reveal any recommended repairs, discuss preventative maintenance and energy saving areas, suggest products to use within your home, and show you how your new home functions.  Visit our website for more information and feel free to call with any questions.


Insured E&O/Gen Liab, InterNACHI, SD 14670, Better School of Building Inspection, Radon Testing & Water Testing


Foundations Home Inspection is a husband and wife team who excel in customer service. They have served Rapid City, Black Hills area, Wyoming, and Nebraska since 2009.


Very professional team! Report was very detailed but not overwhelming. Would highly recommend them!
- L.I., October 2016
Thank you Chris & Michelle! Your inspection was very thorough and your personal presentation/review with me was very precise and easily understood. I also appreciated all the resources you provided that will enable me to easily find needed materials, contractors or anything I might need in the future. Your promptness, expertise, knowledge and ability to make me feel comfortable while touring the home with you enhanced my ability to comprehend all information you provided me with. Thank You and I highly suggest to you to just "keep up the good work"!
- S.S., October 2016
Professional, thorough, and honest!
- C.L., October 2016
Christopher and Michelle were great! They did a very thorough job. Thank You for making us feel more secure about the purchase of our new home.
- J.O., October 2016
Your thoroughness was greatly appreciated. Your suggestions are going to come in so handy when we need to use them. Thank you!
- M.C., October 2016
Thank you for your support we greatly appreciate all your help.
- S.G., Parker CO, October 2016
They were extremely good at there job and very pleasant when reviewing there work. Thank you
- L.M., Custer SD, September 2016
Outstanding service - highly flexible, greatly knowledgable, incredibly helpful. Provide a much-needed, short-notice inspection. Went above and beyond by going into great detail in our "walk through" (which they were more than happy to do over the phone since we were out of state), providing not only complete explanations of all discrepancies, but also tips for routine maintenance, education on anything I didn't understand, and they even emailed us a comprehensive list of recommended local contractors. Awesome!
- D.H., September 2016
So complete, timely, courteous and affordable!
- L.A., September 2016
It was a pleasure working with you both. Thank you for being thorough and prompt. Awesome work , great info and suggestions. We greatly appreciate it! Keep up the awesome work! Mary Bedford
- M.B., September 2016
Thorough, organized, and friendly. We would recommend Chris and Michelle to anyone.
- E.F., September 2016
They are very professional, thorough and friendly. I trust them 100% and would only use them for a home inspection. I really like their recommendations on products and professionals to assist with your home.
- H.L., September 2016
As a first time home buyer, the process can be a bit overwhelming especially adding in the fact that we are purchasing a home sight unseen in a state we have never been to. The home inspection was one of those things that i absolutely did not want to go cheap on. Getting multiple recommendations for your home inspection company without a doubt took any hesitation and worry out of the inspection process. After the initial contact i knew i was in good hands from the very beginning. You both were very respectful, helpful, and accommodating. Your knowledge went well beyond the inspection to provide insight, expertise, and recommendations for future maintenance and it is very much appreciated. I wish there was a "Foundation Home Inspection" with Christopher and Michelle in every city so that when i have to do this all over for a second time there is not a worry to be had. Thank you both for your hospitality and understanding through this inspection and i know now that if i have any questions i can count on you to help get me on the right track! I will definitely recommend you in the future to any that is looking to buy in the area. Thanks again, and you have made a customer for life!
- K.W., September 2016
Did a very wonderful job. Looked everything over and made sure they explained everything very well. Very happy I picked them for our new home inspection.
- C.N., August 2016
Christopher and Michelle are awesome! They spent a great amount of time with us and seemed to genuinely care about our purchase. They answered a ton of questions. They brought many things to our attention and gave helpful suggestions. I've had inspections in the past that were basically walk-throughs. They repeatedly said that we are welcome to call them for advise. I'm sure I will. Thank you!
- K.V., August 2016
This is the second home Christopher has inspected for us in the last few months. His home inspections are very thrall and very detailed when possible. He will answer question to his best knowledge and or recommend where to go for answers. Michelle excellent goes over all the report on paper and how to read and understand the report. The CD contain the picture are awesome. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to buy a home to avoid costly issues down the road.
- R.M., July 2016
The inspection report was by far the most detailed report we have ever received. Christopher did an extremely thorough inspection and caught things that most would ignore. He made himself available to answer questions and recommend local businesses to help with the repairs. Now we have peace of mind with the purchase of our home. Thank you for the wonderful service. Adam and Amber Martin
- A.M., July 2016
Money well spent. They were very thorough and spent a great amount of time explaining and educating us about the home. I would highly recommend!
- M.R., June 2016
I appreciated the thorough inspection and the offer to answer follow-up questions at a later date. The walk-through was very informative with a lot of good and interesting information. The documentation will be good reference for when we move into home. The recommended products guide is very helpful reference material. I was glad that I had the inspection, even with a newer home.
- M.P., June 2016
So thorough, very at ease about the largest purchase of our lives!
- H.B., June 2016
So thorough, very at ease about the largest purchase of our lives!
- H.B., June 2016
Thank You for the inspection. You were very helpful from the first phone call for information. This was very informative and helpful. I am glad that I used Foundation Home Inspections.
- L.B., June 2016
Christopher and Michelle Verbeck were great. The were very personable, friendly and thorough in their inspection. Having been a licensed home inspector myself I couldn't help but compare a little, and they go above and beyond in their services!
- M.N., June 2016
You two are the best, Thank you. Lorielle Blacklance
- L.B., June 2016
This was an amazing experience. They took the time to show me where shut offs for all the services are, where to change my filter and recommended maintenance for the home. I felt like their inspection was more than just an inspection; it felt very personalized to help me long term. All the resouces they sent me home with are great, and much appreciated. I wouldn't have anyone else inspect my homes and 100% recommend them.
- A.W., May 2016
I truly appreciate the thoroughness of the Verbecks' inspection. When you get their report, you truly know your house in a detailed way. No hidden surprises - you can trust that what They see is what You get, or don't get, as the case may be. I would recommend their services to anyone, with no hesitation.
- , April 2016
I truly appreciate the thoroughness of the Verbecks' inspection. When you get their report, you truly know your house in a detailed way. No hidden surprises - you can trust that what They see is what You get, or don't get, as the case may be. I would recommend their services to anyone, with no hesitation.
- N.P., April 2016
Thank you!! Very complete from beginning to the end. Informative, pleasant and reassuring.
- G.P., March 2016
Both are extremely thorough, very engaging, extremely knowledgeable and have put together a very understandable, complete report of their findings. The extra sheets with suggested products and recommended services/vendors is extremely helpful. Will recommend Christopher and Michelle any chance we get. John and Kay Rozell
- S.L., February 2016
Christopher and Michelle did an outstanding and thorough job of inspecting our rental property. I appreciated the time Christopher spent with me going through the house to show me what needed to be done. The report itself was excellent-pictures and write up. They were also so patient and helpful when I had difficulty opening up the report. They talked me and my realtor through it. I would highly recommend them to any one and I will continue to use them as I get ready to sell my propertied.
- J.F., January 2016
What a great experience my home inspection turned out to be with Christopher and Michelle! They were extremely timely in returning my first phone call and had an appointment set up within 4 days of that initial call. They spent over 2 hours walking me through my new house and explaining every bit of the home inspection to me. What a great service! Being a first time home buyer I was super nervous about the whole process of buying a home and going through the inspections. After meeting Christopher and Michelle and now having a great understanding of everything in my home I'm excited to get moved in. I would highly recommend them to everyone I know who is purchasing or selling a home. Thank you for the great service!
- E.S., November 2015
Foundations Home Inspection provided an excellent service in their work for us. Chris and Michelle are thorough, knowledgeable, and very professional. From the start of our visit they made me feel comfortable and answered all my questions. The report arrived extraordinarily quickly considering the detailed nature of the inspection. When I need a home inspected in the future I will be calling Foundations Home Inspection!
- P.J., August 2015
Christopher and Michelle Verbeck did a great job on my inspection. They were very thorough and professional as well as knowledgeable. I'm very happy with the service I was provided and I thank them for it. I would definitely recommend them to anyone needing the services they provide.
- J.S., July 2015
Very thorough inspection. I highly recommend FHI.
- D.L., July 2015
They were professional, courteous, constructive, prompt in arrival and delivery of their inspection results. A pleasure to work with
- T.W., June 2015
I loved Chris and Michelle. They made us feel very confident and comfortable buying our first home. They were very informative about everything that we needed to know.
- J.M., June 2015
We bought our first home and decided to choose Foundations as our home inspectors and couldn't have been happier with that choice. This husband and wife duo was incredibly thorough, not to mention professional and friendly. They provided excellent customer service and we would whole-heartedly recommend them to anyone in need of an inspection!
- T.H., June 2015
As first time home buyers, I was worried that the inspection would be too much information and that we wouldn't understand it all, but Christopher and Michelle did such an amazing job on explaining everything and going over it in detail in ways that we would understand it. I will go back to them over and over and refer them to anyone who needs a home inspection. Thank you so much for you hard work!
- J.M., June 2015
Christopher and Michelle did an awesome job! Love the detail provided.
- A.J., June 2015
I worked with Michelle to get the inspection set up. Very professional and accommidating. I was not able to be present for the summary review of the inspection but I had someone represent me and they informed me that the Verbeck's were very thorough, knowledgeable, and very detailed when they went over the results. I received the detailed report and summary the next day. It was a pleasure to work with Michelle. I am very satisfied with Foundations Home Inspection Inc. and the attention they gave me to set up the inspection within the 10 days I had to get the inspection done. They scheduled and completed the inspection within two days. Fantastic, and very much appreciated. Thanks Verbeck's
- D.M., April 2015
Christopher and Michelle are awesome! We are buying our first home and didn't really know what to look for. The walk through was like home ownership 101. We learned SO much and now feel comfortable with our house. The book that they gave us at the end of the meeting might as well be made of gold! My dad came with and said that he wished he had done an inspection on his own house when he bought it, because there was so much useful information given to us. The report is very detailed and easy to understand. I will probably refer back to it often. If we ever move again in the area, you can bet that we will call this company. The only suggestion that I have is that I wish I had the option to get the pictures on a memory card instead of a cd, as my computer does not have a cd drive.
- S.K., April 2015
Christopher and Michelle Verbeck were very professional and courteous to our family and I would recommend them to anyone for home related services.
- J.R., March 2015
While the purchase of a new home is exciting, the value of the pre-purchase inspection is paramount. The investment in working with Foundations Home Inspection Services was one of the best decisions I made. Reports are clear, understandable and easy to read. While, in this case; no major issues were identified it is nice to know should a safety issue been located, Foundations would have found it. If you are thinking of purchasing a home for your family please be smart, hire Foundations Home Inspectors! Robert Brancato--CFE
- R.B., March 2015
Christopher and Michelle are very professional and knowledgeable on their job. I would highly recommend them.
- S.W., February 2015
Thanks we appreciate your attention to detail and protecting our interests. John & Kat
- J.H., February 2015
It was such a great experience going through this part of the buying process. You were so thorough and professional. Not to mention extremely nice! I will definitely recommend your services in the future. Thank you!
- D.F., February 2015
They did a fantastic job on our new home. Customer service was great and they were able to answer any questions we had. Inspection seemed very thorough. We are first time home buyers and they made us feel at ease the entire time. Definitely recommend to others and will be using them again in the future!
- T.M., January 2015
Thorough, courteous inspection, comprehensive documents, a very positive experience. Thank you!
- T.D., January 2015
Christopher and Michelle were extremely knowledgeable and thorough, as well as friendly and helpful. I appreciated the time they spent explaining everything to me.
- C.P., December 2014
From my first call to Michelle to walking out the door with them from our inspection, the Verbeck's exceeded every expectation I had. They scheduled an inspection for me 2 days before Christmas and were more friendly and knowledgeable than I ever thought possible. I can't imagine there being a better inspection company anywhere in the world!
- C.S., December 2014
It was a pleasure working with you. I feel that during the home inspection that the both of you went above my expectations. I was grateful for all the home tips to keep my home safe and running properly. Thank you
- N.J., October 2014
Wonderful, very thorough and informative. Thank you!
- J.M., October 2014
I have used Foundations twice now and have been extremely pleased both times. Their customer service is excellent and their inspections are very thorough. I would recommend them without hesitation.
- C.R., August 2014
Never expierenced a more complete home inspection process in 25 years in the real estate business in,SD. Jack Jewett
- J.J., August 2014
Chris & Michelle created the most amazing inspection experience by providing detail review and explanation of needed fixes. They were very responsive and helpful to any questions we had. After the completed walk through inspection they sat down with us to help assist us with information as to how to fix items and providing a referral list. For first time home buyers these guys are the only choice. They don't let anything go unnoticed and spend significant time making sure you understand their findings and how to resolve. I am confident that the expenses of the inspections is significantly lower than the quality of the product you receive.
- J.C., June 2014
You guys were amazing. I am so happy our realtor suggested you! With us being out of town buyers you made both of us feel extremely comfortable. Thank you!
- G.V., May 2014
You guys did a great job! Very professional and knowledgeable.
- L.R., April 2014
Extremely thorough and very professional. I highly recommend them for your home inspection needs.
- S.S., April 2014
Thank you so much for the very thorough and informative home inspection. Your ability to quickly schedule the inspection and provide a detailed report was invaluable in allowing us to timely meet our deadlines. We will highly recommend Foundations Home Inspections, Inc., to anyone we know that is looking to buy a home.
- B.L., April 2014
Chris and Michelle were great. As first time home buyers it was great with how thorough they are. They explain everything too including tips for maintenance for the future. I'm sharing their information with everyone I know; they're the ones to go to for home inspections!
- D.W., March 2014
Awesome job. Well worth the money
- T.E., March 2014
Extremely thorough and personable. I felt coddled and educated throughout the process.
- L.O., March 2014
Chris and Michelle were very thorough and provided an excellent report. They spent adequate time on each room and element of a proper inspection and provided clear and concise details on repairs and items to look for and how to monitor for future issues. Very friendly. Each issue was documented with a photo or video for reference. The report had no surprises as they had a great walk through and answered all my questions. Great company and highly recommended.
- C.B., February 2014
Thank you Christopher and Michelle! The inspection you did for me was very helpful. Thank you for taking the time to make sure I understood what needed to be done. We will definitly be using you again in the future.
- A.L., December 2013
Very thorough and professional. I highly recommend them.
- R.K., December 2013
It was great to work with Christopher & Michelle! Very thorough and honest! We definitely recommend them to anyone that is looking for a quality home inspection. Thanks again!
- J.H., October 2013
Fast service, very kind and great quality work. Thank You for quality service. Keep up the good work!! David and Cathy Switzer
- D.S., September 2013
Chris and Michelle are awesome! We were blown away at how detailed they were. They totally answered all our questions and then some. We loved how above-and-beyond they went for us. We will definitely recommend them to anyone needing an inspection!
- M.G., September 2013
We are so impressed with your service. Thank you so much for doing such a wonderful job. We have much more peace of mind knowing that ya'll were so thorough!
- S.S., September 2013
They did such a great job. Very friendly, and explained things well. Felt they did a great inspection of our home!
- J.C., August 2013
I felt this was a very complete, professional job. You both come across as very knowledgeable friendly and helpful. I would ,indeed recommend you to anyone looking for a home inspection!
- K.H., August 2013
My wife and I were floored at the professionalism and thoroughness of Christopher and Michelle in conducting our home inspection. The walk through and subsequent report we received after they had completed their inspection was awesome. We will not recommend anyone else in the Rapid City, SD area and will definitely be back for a seller's inspection when we leave the area. Christopher and Michelle were as friendly as they were professional. As newcomers to the area, it was awesome to interact with people as warm and welcoming as them. Stop searching - you've found the perfect Home Inspection team!
- J.D., August 2013
First off I wanted to say thank you. I appreciate your patience and great communication with me. The written report was very detailed and the pictures are all clearly labeled. The physical walk through was very helpful. Chris and Michelle explained everything to me in terms I could understand. In addition to doing the actual inspection I was also provided with a manual about maintenance and how to identify problems. I highly recommend the Verbecks. As a single mother and first time home buyer, this was not only an inspection but a great learning experience. They returned my calls immediately. They were very punctual. I also have the option of contacting them in the future for questions or advice.
- M.K., July 2013
Christopher and Michelle; thank you so much for such a thorough and professional job. Chuck
- C.Y., July 2013
We were extremely pleased with our inspection by Christopher and Michelle. We felt very confident that they had done a thorough job and gave us so much feedback, we feel like we know everything there is to know about our new residence. We would highly recommend them if you are looking for someone that will give you a very detailed assessment if you are planning to buy. Vern & Lynda Beckler
- V.B., June 2013
They were very easy to talk to and their explanation was easy for us to understand. They took their time and answered all of our questions to our satisfaction. It was well worth the cost and we appreciated their throughness. Deacon Jim & Joyce Hayes
- J.H., June 2013
Comprehensive inspection. Good customer service.
- H.C., May 2013
I found these two to be very helpful, since I am a new homeowner. I like how they took the time to investigate everything to do with the house. Also were very friendly and made suggestions to the house that would help me out in the future. The best thing is they walk you back thru the house explaining everything and they also tell you how your house actually functions in everyday life.
- M.S., May 2013
Christopher and Michelle were very professional, knowledgeable, and informed on all the newest laws/regulations. They took their time during the inspection and the added hour to walk through with me was great. I feel very well educated and I know that I will be able to contact them at any time if I have a question later on and need assistance. They also gave a military discount and lots of recommendations for local professionals. Thank you for your time and great service! v/r Amy Elliott
- A.E., May 2013
It was my first inspection I've been apart of and I thought they were professional and looked over my place very well. They also gave a lot of helpful hints for maintaining the home which was nice!
- C.L., May 2013
This is a great inspector willing to spend the time with their customers to thoroughly explain everything. Well organized and on time.
- C.B., May 2013
Christopher and Michelle, Thank you! All your work is greatly appreciated. I am so glad I got this inspection done! You were both so kind and helpful! Sincerely, Kathy
- K.S., April 2013
This was a very detailed report and it was done very quickly. I would highly recommend this inspection service. I also found that the additional information and resources provided were very helpful to a new home buyer or someone new to the area.
- L.L., April 2013
You both were professional, polite and knowledgeable about everything we asked. It was a pleasure to work with you both and we will recommend you to all of our friends. I am also very impressed with the very detailed report that we received, it is superb.
- P.B., April 2013
I was really pleased with the inspection. The inspector was very professional and friendly while instrumental in answering all our questions. I will definitely recommend them!
- J.M., March 2013
Outstanding. Thorough inspection, professional, friendly, helpful, timely, reasonably priced...I'd definitely recommend and use them again myself. Thank you! John
- J.P., March 2013
Chris and Michelle were phenomenal. I was absolutely stunned at the level of customer service and detail they provided in their home inspection. For starters, I could tell that they actually WANTED us to be in a safe and secure home, thus inspecting each detail of the home to the best of their ability. They also provided a tutorial on how to service any and all appliances throughout the home from the dishwasher to the gas furnace. Finally, they have created a welcome pamphlet of all the best contractors and maintainers in the local area for their customer service whom also service their own home. And if that wasn't enough, they spent the extra time getting to know us long enough to provide us with recommendations for the best fishing holes and places to get a good steak. Chris and Michelle made me want to buy another house just so I could get them to inspect again!
- J.S., February 2013
very good, information and nice people, highly recommend
- C.R., February 2013
Christopher and Michelle are so thorough and they walk you through the home in a way that doesn't make all the fixes seem so overwhelming. They took the time to explain and answer anything I had questions about. As a first time homebuyer, I'm very thankful to have such a thorough and friendly team recommended for the inspection.
- K.B., February 2013
We were very pleased with the information and fantastic report provided to us.
- D.S., February 2013
We really appreciated all of the information you provided us to maintain our new home, that was well worth having the inspection done on its own! Your customer service is outstanding and we will definitely recommend you to everyone we know! We will be using some of the local businesses you recommended to us as soon as we move in. Thanks again!!
- R.I., January 2013
Foundations Home Inspection is a great company. Christopher and Michelle are one of the nicest couples I've met and it was a pleasure to work with them. Their inspection was thorough. They spent an hour with me going through the entire home after their almost 2 hour inspection before I had arrived. Their knowledge of all different systems was superb as Christopher was spouting off facts and information left and right which was very helpful as a first time home buyer. They also provided me with a disc full of pictures and a homeowners welcome packet at the time of the inspection. Their detailed report was published by the following morning as well. Thanks Foundations for a great home inspection.
- B.K., December 2012
This is the first home inspection we have ever done! The best money we have ever spent! Christopher and Michelle were great to work with. They are friendly and very thorough in their inspection.
- S.G., December 2012
Thank you for your knowledge and friendly personality!!!!!
- C.R., December 2012
I was very pleased with the inspection completed by Chris and Michelle. Along with being professional and extremely knowledgeable, they also made the inspection enjoyable. I appreciate the thoroughness of the inspection and feel that I have obtained the information necessary to make my home a safe living environment. I would recommend Foundations to any buyer or seller in the Black Hills area.
- S.J., November 2012
We thought Christopher and Michelle were excellent home inspectors. They were very helpful with explaining everything in the house, even if it was functioning properly. They were very friendly and gave us very good recommendations on who to use for future home repairs. We would recommend them to everyone buying or selling a home!
- J.S., November 2012
Foundations Home Inspections were very professional, thorough throughout the inspection, answered all of our questions,and provided us with a lot of helpful information about how to maintain the home. As first time home buyers, Foundations was exactly what we needed to feel comfortable with our home purchase. The detailed inspection report and packet of home maintenance information will be very useful in the future. Dustin & Nicole Lecy
- D.L., November 2012
I would give higher than a "10" if I could. Chris and Michelle are professionals and gave our house one of the most extensive inspections I have ever been a part of. I felt very comfortable with them and I felt that they worked very well together. If I could speak to every home buyer in Rapid City, I would tell them to only use Foundations because they are the best.
- J.K., October 2012
Chris and Michelle were just awesome! We were first time home buyers and a little nervous from all the bad things that we hear about getting inspections done on your house. But Chris and Michelle made that worry go away! We love the fact that they go above and beyond with their inspections; and go into depth with you, explaining each and every thing that is right or wrong in the house. Definitely will recommend them to anyone we know that are buying houses! We loved getting all of the pictures and the report is detailed yet easy enough for us to understand what it is saying. Thanks again Chris and Michelle!
- C.S., October 2012
Very informative and knowledgable. You made this experience enjoyable and we were appreciative for all the suggestions and advice.
- A.C., August 2012