Are you interested in learning how to become a Tennessee Home Inspector? Look no further. This comprehensive guide to becoming a Home Inspector in Tennessee will lay out all the necessary qualifications and walk you through every step you need to take to receive your license and start practicing.
Planning to become a Home Inspector in Tennessee? Here’s what you should know:
Before you become a Home Inspector in Tennessee, there are a few laws and details you should keep in mind. Chapter 65 of the 2005 Home Inspector License Act states that anyone who wishes to become a licensed Home Inspector in the state of Tennessee must complete an application and submit it to the commissioner of Tennessee.
Home Inspector Requirements in Tennessee
In order to become a Home Inspector in Tennessee, and be legally compensated for the service you provide, you must meet the following requirements.
Be At Least 18 Years Old
Anyone who wishes to become a licensed Home Inspector in Tennessee must be at least 18 years old, according to the Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance.
High School Diploma or Equivalent
Before starting your home inspection education, you must earn a high school diploma or an equivalent certificate, such as a GED.
Complete 90 Hours of Approved Education
Tennessee requires that all Home Inspectors complete at least 90 hours of home inspection education via a certified training program.
Submit to a Background and Criminal History Check
Before you can earn your Tennessee home inspection license, you must submit your personal information for a criminal background check.
Obtain General Liability Insurance
All Home Inspectors in the state of Tennessee must obtain a General Liability insurance policy with a minimum policy coverage of $500,000.
Obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance
Home Inspectors in Tennessee must also carry Errors and Omissions Insurance. There is no required minimum policy coverage for this type of insurance.
How to become a Home Inspector in Tennessee: A full 6-step guide to becoming a Georgia Home Inspector
Step 1: Complete 90 Hours Of Education
The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance requires that anyone who wishes to become a Home Inspector in Tennessee hold an official license. In order to receive a license, must successfully complete at least 90 hours of a commissioner-approved Home Inspector training program.
There are many schools from which you can choose. For your convenience, we’ve provided a list of a few of the most popular schools below:
- International Association of Certified Home Inspectors (InterNACHI)
- American Home Inspectors Training (AHIT)
- Inspection Certification Associates (ICA)
- Professional Home Inspection Institute (PHII)
An official Tennessee Home Inspector training course will teach you both general and nuanced skills needed to become a Home Inspector, such as providing a repair estimate. The courses also walk you through how to prepare inspection reports, which are critical to building your credibility as a certified Home Inspector.
Step 2: Pass The National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE)
Once you have completed your required education, your next step is to register for and pass the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE). Passing the exam will qualify you to become a member of the American Society of Home Inspectors, which can open your career up to countless opportunities. This organization is one of the most well known in the industry, having helped thousands of Home Inspectors form professional relationships and grow their businesses.
When studying for the exam, you should keep in mind that the examination will test three performance domains: Property and Building Inspection/Site Review, Analysis of Findings and Reporting, and Professional Responsibilities. The Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors (EBPHI) also has practice quizzes that can be purchased on the National Home Inspector Examination website here.
Step 3: Obtain An Insurance Policy
In order to receive your official Home Inspector license, you must have insurance to protect you and your clients. To be approved, you must secure and maintain an insurance policy of at least $500,000. Tennessee requires proof of the following insurance policies:
- A general liability insurance policy of at least $500,000
- A certificate of errors and omissions (E&O) insurance
General liability and E&O Insurance policies for small businesses usually cost around $50 per month. To get the best rate and a better idea of what coverage you need, you can speak with a licensed local insurance agent who has worked with other home inspectors. This insurance policy will protect you and your business in case a client files a claim or lawsuit against you. While no one expects to make mistakes, preparing yourself for these instances will help preserve your reputation and practice in the home inspection industry. Some home inspection software companies, such as HomeGauge, offer discounts on E&O insurance premiums.
Step 4: Apply For An Official License
Once you’ve completed your required 90-hour Tennessee Home Inspector course and passed the National Home Inspector Exam, you will need to apply for an official license. You can apply for an official license by submitting an application along with a $300 licensing fee to the Tennessee Department Of Commerce & Insurance.
The Home Inspector Licensing Program was enacted on April 18, 2005 requiring that anyone who works as a Home Inspector in the state of Tennessee carry an official license.
Step 5: Continue Your Education
To maintain good standing with the Tennessee government, you must be committed to continuing your Home Inspector education. While the state does not require that you commit that many hours, it does state that all Home Inspectors need to complete 32 hours of continued education every 2 years.
In Tennessee, at the end of your two-year licensure period, you are eligible to renew starting 90 days prior to your license expiration date, as long as you have completed your continuing education requirements. This renewal application must reach the commissioner no later than 30 days prior to the expiration date of your license.
Step 6: Register Your Business or Join a Firm
As you embark on your new career as a Home Inspector in Tennessee, you will need to decide whether to work for yourself or join an established firm. If you plan on working for yourself, you will need to register your business as an official legal entity with the state of Tennessee. A business lawyer can help you with the necessary steps if you run into trouble.
If you aren’t sure which route to take, you may find it helpful to reach out to more established colleagues in the home inspection industry. Many inspectors have experience working solo as well as part of a firm and are happy to share their wisdom.
How long does it take to become a Home Inspector in Tennessee?
The length of time required to become a Home Inspector in Tennessee will vary depending on multiple factors, including how long it takes you to complete the required 90-Hour training program. If you are diligent about your training, it is possible to complete this program in just a few weeks, after which you can take the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE).
How much does it cost to become a Home Inspector in Tennessee?
The cost of becoming a Home Inspector in Tennessee will depend on a few things, including which training school or course you decide to take. Some courses can cost as little as $100, while others may run you upwards of $500. If you choose to forgo a course, your only expense will be the $225 required to take the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE). If a Home Inspector decides they would like more formal training, the process can cost upwards of $2,000 in some cases.
What is the best Home Inspector training course in Tennessee?
There is no definitive “best” Home Inspector training program in the state of Tennessee. A training program that worked great for another Home Inspector may not be suitable for you. There are many options for you to choose from, and doing your own research to find the one that works best for you and your business is key.
Here is a list of a few programs that have helped many Home Inspectors in the past:
International Association of Certified Home Inspectors (InterNACHI)
InterNACHI is one of the most frequently used Home Inspector schools, providing free training, online testing, and certification. The program also assists with business development and marketing support, and discounts on Inspector needs, such as software, and insurance. Becoming a member of InterNACHI is relatively cheap; Inspectors can pay either $49/month or $499/year.
To learn more about InterNACHI, you can check out their website here.
American Home Inspectors Training (AHIT)
The American Home Inspectors Training (otherwise known as AHIT) provides online courses, live classes, and professional assistance to help you with continuing your education and developing your home inspection business. The program offers three online courses, ranging in price from $595 to $795. AHIT also offers live classes in various locations; these classes, however, can cost upwards of $1,400. To learn more about AHIT’s Michigan home inspection courses and materials, click here.
Inspection Certification Associates (ICA)
The Inspection Certification Associates (ICA) provide ongoing career support for their Edcetera Home Inspection Members, in addition to Home Inspector training. For more information about their membership and training material, visit their website here.
Those looking to begin their journey towards becoming an official Home Inspector in Tennessee should follow the steps listed above to complete their training and receive a license. Along the way, you will have a few choices to make, including which school or program to enroll in to complete the required 90 hours of education.
Be sure to keep the following essential steps and tips in mind when working to become a Tennessee Home Inspector:
- You must complete 90 hours of education prior to becoming a licensed Home Inspector.
- The state of Tennessee requires that you pass the National Home Inspector Exam.
- You must acquire a general liability insurance policy with coverage of at least $500,000.
- You must have a high school diploma or equivalent to apply.
- Continued education of at least 32 hours every 2 years is required.
If you’re considering a career as a Home Inspector in Tennessee as a career and are looking to partner with a company that can provide you with all of the tools you’ll need, contact our team at HomeGauge today.
How hard is it to become a Home Inspector in Tennessee?
Overall, it is pretty easy to become a Home Inspector in Tennessee. As long as you complete the required 90 hours of commissioner-approved training and study adequately for the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE), the rest of the process is fairly easy.
Do you need a license to become a Home Inspector in Tennessee?
The Tennessee Department of Commerce requires a license to work as a Home Inspector in Tennessee.
How much do Home Inspectors make in Tennessee?
As of the publication of this article, the Home Inspectors make an average yearly income of $52,559 per year in the state of Tennessee.
Disclaimer: The information in this article should be used as a guide and was accurate at the time of publishing. Check with your state authorities for the most up-to-date regulations.